1. Oracle Cloud Services

Robotron is your exclusive contact in the area of Oracle cloud services in Switzerland and Austria for call-off contracts and services from the GÉANT or OCRE framework agreements. You will save time-consuming tenders as a research institution, college or university and can use the cloud services at short notice. Robotron supports you not only with contractual administration but also with a complete service portfolio. From help getting started with Always-Free Services to operational support (7x24h SLA) of highly critical systems, our experts are at your side.

 

Overview of the most important advantages of the Oracle Cloud

The Oracle Cloud with locations in Zurich (CH), Frankfurt (D) and Amsterdam (NL), among others, is a 2nd generation cloud. Whether CERN or the Swiss Federal Administration: Everyone is convinced of the performance, the security and the low costs of operating applications in the Oracle Cloud. But what does this mean in comparison to AWS, Azure and Co.

Predictable High Capacity and Performance

Each service in the Oracle Cloud receives the allocated resources. Overprovisioning as with other cloud providers does not occur. This is why Oracle offers you Service Level Agreements for performance and service level angreements and provides service credit payback if the performance cannot be delivered (see: Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Service Level Agreement | Oracle Germany), from the simple VM to high-performance computing (see: High Performance Computing (HPC) | Oracle Germany).

Openness to Technology

Whether for operating systems, VM (also VMWare) workload or bare metal systems: In the Oracle Cloud, everyone can deploy what they need. Or use prefabricated services up to "Autonomous" Database or Linux. Oracle can always provide the right platforms for R&D and teaching. And it does so more cost-effectively than the competition, while offering dedicated performance at the same time. No matter whether virtualized as always-free, fee-based or as bare metal, GPU or high performance computing.

Network Traffic Costs

Oracle offers the best conditions for network traffic compared to its competitors. Traffic to the cloud is always free, traffic from the cloud is also free for the first 10TB. Each additional GB costs $0.0085 (as of October 2021). By comparison, 5GB of outbound traffic is free at Microsoft Azure. But at 20TB, the costs at MS Azure exceed those of Oracle by a factor of more than ten.

Consistency

Oracle technologies are all identical on-premises and in the cloud. There is no difference in the functional scope of databases or other technologies, as is the case with competitors. Therefore, in addition to technology consistency, it is easy for Oracle to guarantee predictable minimum availability and manageability of services. Again, credits will be issued to you if those criteria are not fulfilled.

Security First

In the Oracle Cloud, the topic of security is completely implemented from the hardware to the application. Machine learning and artificial intelligence monitor the system. There are no privileges that are assigned out-of-the-box (see: Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Security Architecture).

Our Service Portfolio in the Cloud Environment

Consulting and Sales of Oracle Cloud Services

Our agile sales team supports you in all questions regarding the selection and procurement of Oracle Cloud Services. This allows uncomplicated clarification of specific questions in advance. Furthermore, we can arrange test settings and special usage rights with the manufacturer for you in order to respond to any situation.

Proof of Concepts for Oracle Public Cloud

Robotron supports you to extensively evaluate Oracle Public Cloud Services. In particular, PaaS and IaaS infrastructures can be examined with corresponding test scenarios for the specific objectives of your company or institution. This makes it possible to thoroughly test the requirements of the specialist department as well as those of IT operations within the scope of a Proof of Concepts (PoC).


A PoC can be concluded with comprehensive documentation and processing of the findings upon request. We are also happy to support you with in-house presentations for your management.

Cloud Project Implementation

We provide all-round service for your cloud project. We can support you with our consultants in all project phases (consulting and conception, service administration, migration, if necessary, and going live).

Professional Services (Operational Support and Managed Services) for Your Oracle Cloud Services

Similar to on-premises offerings, Robotron can provide fine-tuned support services for the operation of your cloud infrastructure. We complement your existing forces with our professional services portfolio so that the cloud service fits seamlessly into your infrastructure. For instance, we can support your 24x7 operations from a simple DBA on-call service to automated, full-scale, active monitoring of your systems.

Robotron Is a Certified Member of the Oracle Partnernetwork

As a long-standing Oracle partner, we not only have certified expertise, but also the necessary field experience in what the introduction and migration to Oracle infrastructures means for our customers. We invite you to benefit from the support of our Oracle professionals for your database and cloud projects. We are looking forward to passing on our knowledge to you. We offer a variety of different courses and hands-on workshops around Oracle technologies in our own Robotron training center.

Learn more about our training offerings

Cooperation with Research Institutions

Robotron is working with several research institutions on further developing intelligent software solutions. Particularly in context of the energy industry, joint expertise from industry and research is required in order to explore forward-looking concepts. Want an example? Discover our pilot project Smart Campus. Robotron is also committed to promoting young academics and supports working students, doctoral candidates and students who are completing a hands-on project or semester. Thereby, we closely cooperate with universities and universities of applied sciences.

Your contact person:
Jörg Sobottka
Senior-Consultant
Contact form

1. Start
  2. Oracle Cloud Services

Robotron ist Ihr exklusiver Ansprechpartner für Oracle-Cloud-Services in der Schweiz und in Österreich für Abrufverträge und Dienstleistungen aus den GÉANT- bzw. OCRE-Rahmenverträgen. Als Forschungseinrichtung, Hochschule oder Universität sparen Sie sich langwierige Ausschreibungen und können die Cloud-Services kurzfristig nutzen. Robotron unterstützt Sie neben der vertraglichen Administration auch mit einem kompletten Dienstleistungsportfolio. Von der Hilfe beim Einstieg mit den Always-Free Services bis zur Betriebsunterstützung (7x24h SLA) hochkritischer Systeme stehen Ihnen unsere Experten zur Seite.

Die wichtigsten Vorteile der Oracle Cloud im Überblick

Bei der Oracle Cloud mit Standorten u.a. in Zürich (CH), Frankfurt (D) und Amsterdam (NL) handelt es sich um eine 2nd Generation Cloud. Egal ob CERN oder die Schweizer Bundesverwaltung: Von der Leistungsfähigkeit, der Sicherheit und den niedrigen Kosten des Betriebs von Applikationen in der Oracle Cloud sind alle überzeugt. Doch was bedeutet das im Vergleich zu AWS, Azure und Co.?

Berechenbar hohe Leistung und Performance

In der Oracle Cloud erhält jeder Service die zugeteilten Ressourcen. Ein "Overprovisioning" wie bei anderen Cloudanbietern findet nicht statt. Oracle bietet Ihnen deshalb Service Level Agreements für Performance und erstellt Gutschriften (Service Credits), wenn die Performance nicht eingehalten werden kann (vgl.: Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Service Level Agreement | Oracle Deutschland), von der einfachen VM bis zum High-Performance-Computing (vgl. High Performance Computing (HPC) | Oracle Deutschland).

Technologieoffenheit

Ob bei Betriebssystemen, VM (auch VMWare) Workload oder Bare Metal Systemen: In der Oracle Cloud kann jeder das deployen, was er benötigt. Oder vorgefertigte Services bis hin zu "Autonomous" Database oder Linux nutzen. Oracle kann für die Forschung und Entwicklung sowie die Lehre immer die richtigen Plattformen zur Verfügung stellen. Und das kostengünstiger als die Konkurrenz bei gleichzeitig dedizierter Performance. Egal ob virtualisiert als always-free, kostenpflichtig oder als Bare Metal, GPU oder High Performance Computing.

Kosten für Netzwerkverkehr

Oracle bietet im Vergleich zu seinen Mitbewerbern die besten Konditionen für den Netzwerkverkehr an. Traffic in die Cloud ist immer kostenfrei, Traffic aus der Cloud ist für die ersten 10TB ebenfalls ohne Kosten. Jedes zusätzliche GB kostet 0,0085 USD (Stand: Oktober 2021). Zum Vergleich: Bei Microsoft Azure sind 5GB Outbound Traffic kostenlos. Bereits bei 20TB übersteigen die Kosten bei MS Azure jene von Oracle um mehr als das Zehnfache.

Konsistenz

Oracle Technologien sind on-premises und in der Cloud 1:1 gleich, es gibt keinen Unterschied im Funktionsumfang von Datenbanken oder anderen Technologien, wie das bei Mitbewerbern durchaus der Fall ist. Deshalb ist es für Oracle einfach, neben der Technologiebeständigkeit, berechenbare Mindestverfügbarkeiten und Manageability von Services zu garantieren. Auch hier werden Ihnen beim Unterschreiten der Kriterien Gutschriften erstellt.

Konnektivität

Security First

In der Oracle Cloud wird das Thema Security von der Hardware bis zur Applikation komplett umgesetzt. Machine Learning und künstliche Intelligenz überwachen die Systeme, es gibt keine Privilegien, die out-of-the-box vergeben sind (vgl.: Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Security Architecture).

Unser Leistungsportfolio im Cloud-Umfeld

Beratung und Vertrieb von Oracle-Cloud-Services

Unser agiles Vertriebsteam unterstützt Sie bei allen Fragen der Auswahl und Beschaffung von Oracle-Cloud-Services. So können auch spezielle Fragen unkompliziert im Vorfeld geklärt werden. Des Weiteren können wir Teststellungen und spezielle Nutzungsrechte für Sie mit dem Hersteller vereinbaren, um Ihren individuellen Situationen gerecht zu werden.

Proof of Concepts für Oracle-Public-Cloud

Robotron unterstützt Sie, die Oracle-Public-Cloud Services umfangreich zu evaluieren. Insbesondere PaaS- und IaaS-Infrastrukturen können mit entsprechenden Testszenarien auf die spezifischen Zielstellungen Ihres Unternehmens untersucht werden. Dies ermöglicht, sowohl die Anforderungen des Fachbereichs als auch die des IT-Betriebes im Rahmen eines Proof of Concepts (PoC) ausgiebig zu verproben.

Auf Wunsch wird der PoC mit einer umfassenden Dokumentation und Aufbereitung der Erkenntnisse abgeschlossen. Außerdem unterstützen wir Sie gern bei der Inhouse-Präsentation für Ihr Management.

Durchführung von Cloud-Projekten

Wir liefern den Rundum-Service zu Ihrem Cloud-Projekt. In allen Projektphasen (Beratung und Konzeption, Service-Administration, ggf. Migration und Go-live) können wir Sie mit unseren Beratern unterstützen.

Professional Services (Betriebsunterstützung und Managed Services) für Ihren Oracle-Cloud-Services

Analog der On-Premises-Angebote kann Robotron für den Betrieb Ihrer Cloud-Infrastruktur feingranular abgestimmte Unterstützungsleistungen erbringen. Wir ergänzen mit unserem Professional-Services-Portfolio Ihre bestehenden Kräfte, damit der Cloud-Service sich nahtlos in Ihre Infrastruktur einpasst. Unter anderem können wir Ihren 24x7-Betrieb von der reinen DBA-Rufbereitschaft bis zur automatisierten, vollumfänglichen, aktiven Überwachung Ihrer Systeme unterstützen.

Robotron ist zertifizierter Mitglied des Oracle PartnerNetworks

Als jahrelanger Oracle-Partner verfügen wir nicht nur über zertifiziertes Spezialwissen, sondern auch über die nötige Praxiserfahrung, was die Einführung und Migration auf Oracle-Infrastrukturen für unsere Kunden bedeutet. Profitieren Sie von der Unterstützung unserer Oracle-Profis bei Ihren Datenbank- und Cloud-Projekten. Zudem geben wir unser Wissen gern an Sie weiter. Im hauseigenen Robotron Schulungszentrum bieten wir Ihnen eine Vielzahl verschiedener Kurse und Praxis-Workshops rund um Oracle-Technologien.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unser Schulungsangebot

Kooperationen mit Forschungseinrichtungen

Robotron arbeitet mit verschiedenen Forschungseinrichtungen an der Weiterentwicklung intelligenter Software-Lösungen. Besonders im Kontext der Energiewirtschaft bedarf es gemeinschaftlicher Expertisen aus Praxis und Forschung, um zukunftsweisende Konzepte zu erproben. Beispiel gefällig? Entdecken Sie unser Pilotprojekt Smart Campus. Zusätzlich engagiert sich Robotron im Bereich der akademischen Nachwuchsförderung und unterstützt Werkstudenten, Doktoranten sowie Studierende, die ein Praxisprojekt oder -semester absolvieren. Dabei arbeiten wir eng mit Universitäten und Fachhochschulen zusammen.

Ihr Ansprechpartner:
Jörg Sobottka
Senior-Berater der Robotron Schweiz GmbH